LBNL 한인 모임

August 2013

The Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute (KERI) and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Berkeley Lab) will explore the possibility of collaborative research on smart grids, demand response, standards, and other joint energy-related R&D, under a memorandum of understanding (MOU) signed recently by the leaders of the two organizations.

The MOU, signed last week by KERI President Kim Ho-Yong and Berkeley Lab Director Paul Alivisatos, specifies that the two participating research organizations will explore potential collaborations in the areas of the Smart Grid, demand response, energy efficiency, and interoperability standards development and deployment. The MOU also mentionsOpenADR, the open automated demand response communications specification developed at Berkeley Lab, as an area of possible collaboration.

Berkeley Lab researchers in the Environmental Energy Technologies Division (EETD) will work with KERI to develop R&D projects in these areas of collaboration. Berkeley Lab has pioneered the development of automated demand response technologies, strategies, and standards at the Demand Response Research Center, which is funded by the state of California, the U.S. Department of Energy, utilities, and other entities. EETD has hosted visiting KERI researchers for a number of years.

Under this MOU, both institutions hope to grow their joint work. They will be exploring research possibilities in the application of automated demand response in facilities’ systems and networks, as well as open smart grid standards for the Republic of Korea. Other Smart Grid and energy efficiency strategies that can save energy and reduce peak power use, and the measurement and verification of energy efficiency programs are also potential areas for collaboration.

Present at the signing were KERI President Kim Ho-Yong, Chang Ho-Rhee, Director of KERI’s Electricity Industry Policy Research Center, and Cho Ki-Seon, Technical Leader, Electricity Industry Policy Center. Berkeley Lab attendees included Berkeley Lab Director Paul Alivisatos; EETD Division Director Ashok Gadgil; Michel Foure, Deputy Leader, Energy Storage and Distributed Resources Department in EETD; Rish Ghatikar, Acting Deputy Leader, Grid Integration Group; and Joyce Kim, and Ella Sung, researchers in the Grid Integration Group.

Allan Chen